Chipola Clinches Third Straight Conference Title

Chipola Clinches Third Straight Conference Title

The Chipola Indians (36-11, 15-3) beat Tallahassee on Sunday 9-0 at Chipola College in seven innings to clinch 1st Place in the Panhandle Conference for the third straight year. Chipola has won the Panhandle Conference 11 of the past 16 seasons and has won five of the last six dating back to 2011. 

The Chipola Indians came out swinging, scoring four runs in the first inning to jump ahead of Tallahassee early.

Te'Kwaan Whyte racked up two RBIs on two hits for the Chipola Indians. He singled in the fourth inning and homered in the sixth inning.

Brady Acker (4-0) got the win for the Chipola Indians. He pitched seven shutout innings. Acker struck out seven, walked none and gave up seven hits.

Rion Murrah took the loss for Tallahassee. He lasted just one-third of an inning, walked one, struck out none, and allowed four runs.

The Chipola Indians piled on two more runs in the bottom of the fourth. Whyte singled, plating Wood Myers to start the inning.

The Chipola Indians increased their lead with three runs in the sixth. A solo blast by Whyte ignited the offense,. That was followed up by Michael Hickman's single, scoring Jose Caballero.

Chipola is on the bye this week. They will resume conference play at home, Friday, April 22 against Pensacola at 5pm. The last scheduled conference game is at Pensacola on April 23. 

"Powered by Narrative Science and GameChanger Media. Copyright 2016. All rights reserved." Any reuse or republication of this story must include the preceding attribution.