Panhandle Conference Announces Academic Awards

Panhandle Conference Announces Academic Awards
The Panhandle Conference, on Thursday, announced its academic student-athlete awards for the 2017-18 academic year.
A total of 228 student-athletes were named to the Panhandle Conference All-Academic team, based on achieving a minimum 3.0 grade point average, either in the current academic year or over multiple years. The list of honorees includes participants from Florida State College at Jacksonville, Santa Fe College and St. Johns River State College as volleyball-only members of the Panhandle Conference.
At the head of the class are Tallahassee Community College’s Cole Vann, named the Dr. Dale O’Daniel Panhandle Conference Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year and Chipola College’s Krystal Goodman, the Mickey Englett Panhandle Conference Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year.
The awards, voted on by the Panhandle Conference’s five athletic directors, bears the names of O’Daniel and Englett, both of whom enjoyed distinguished careers in higher education, particularly in intercollegiate athletics, and recognizes academics, citizenship and community service in addition to athletic accomplishments.
Vann, a member of the Eagles’ baseball team, helped Tallahassee to back-to-back appearances in the FCSAA State Tournament. He was First-team FCSAA All-State as a designated hitter in 2018 after earning second-team honors as a freshman and was a two-time First-team All-Panhandle Conference selection. In 58 games as a sophomore, Vann batted .383 with seven home runs and 49 RBIs.
Vann actively participated in numerous volunteer opportunities throughout the community, both in Tallahassee, where he mentored students at Sabal Palm Elementary School, and in his hometown of Colquitt, Ga., where he volunteered at First Baptist Church and assisted with baseball and development of young athletes at his alma mater, Miller County High School.
Vann, who previously received the Panhandle Conference’s Buddy Kisner Baseball Scholar-Athlete Award, graduated in May with a 3.84 GPA. He will continue his academic and athletic careers at Georgia Southern University where he will pursue a biology degree.
Goodman, a native of Long Beach, Miss., anchored Chipola’s pitching staff en route to consecutive berths in the NJCAA Division I Softball Championships and a national runners-up finish in 2018. She was named the 2018 Dudley NJCAA Division I Softball Pitcher of the Year and was first-team All-America after appearing in 35 games and posting a record of 26-2 and a 0.46 ERA with 227 strikeouts in 181.1 innings.
Goodman was also named FCSAA State Pitcher of the Year in 2018, First-team FCSAA All-State in 2017 and 2018, Panhandle Conference Pitcher of the Year in 2017 and 2018 and First-team All-Panhandle Conference in 2017 and 2018.
Goodman graduated in May with a 3.95 GPA and will continue her academic and athletic careers at the University of Alabama.
Vann and Goodman, the top PC scholar-athletes in their respective sports, were joined as O’Daniel and Englett award nominees by Andres Feliz, Northwest Florida State College (men’s basketball); Nana Sule, Chipola (women’s basketball) and Rebecca Cox, Santa Fe (volleyball).
Below is the complete 2018 Panhandle Conference All-Academic team:
Chipola College:
 Weston Bizzle, baseball
 Julio Carrion, baseball
 Andrew Grogan, baseball
 Trevor Holloway, baseball
 Connor Kehl, baseball
 Morgan McCullough, baseball
 Kadrian Russ, baseball
 Francisco Urbaez, baseball
 Jose Visaez, baseball
 Alex Webb, baseball
 Phillip Sanderson, baseball
 Keishawn Brewton, men’s basketball
 Pape Diop, men’s basketball
 Tobias Howard, men’s basketball
 Michael Stone, men’s basketball
 Summer Hill, cross country
 Hannah Rees, cross country
 Elizabeth Fleener, cross country
 Madison Daniels, cross country
 Shaela Gardner, women’s basketball
 Valerie Nesbitt, women’s basketball
 Nana Sule, women’s basketball
 Lawrencia Moten, women’s basketball
 Ally Clegg, softball
 Casey Farrow, softball
 Brooke Farrow, softball
 Candela Figueroa, softball
 Krystal Goodman, softball
 Alexis Grampp, softball
 Madison Kent, softball
 Sydney Mclain, softball
 Debora Ribeiro, softball
 Lacey Sanders, softball
 Melany Sheldon, softball
 Gabriella Williams, softball
 Barbara Woll, softball
 Amy Woodham, softball
 Jadia Jones, softball
About the Panhandle Conference’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards:
Each year, the Panhandle Conference selects the Dr. Dale O’Daniel Panhandle Conference Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year and the Mickey Englett Panhandle Conference Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year.
Nominees are the scholar-athlete of the year recipients in the Panhandle Conference’s five sanctioned sports – men’s and women’s basketball, baseball, softball and volleyball. Women’s cross country and cheerleading are also eligible to submit a nominee as a non-sanctioned sport or activity.
Dr. Dale O’Daniel’s distinguished career in higher education spanned more than four decades. Beginning in 1967, all but nine years of his service to the Florida College System came at Chipola College – as an economics professor, chief business officer, President and, finally, Director of Athletics, a post he held from 2003 until retiring in 2012. Chipola’s 2006-07 season included state championships in four different sports and national championships in baseball and softball. In addition to directing Chipola Athletics, Dr. O’Daniel was instrumental in the College’s role as host for the FCSAA State/NJCAA Region 8 basketball tournament. Dr. O’Daniel’s visionary guidance and leadership also extended to the conference and state levels, all in an effort to promote academic and athletic excellence.
Mickey Englett’s hall of fame career in athletics and education spanned more than four decades, including 22 years at Northwest Florida State College, where he served as Director of Athletics and Dean of Student Services until retiring in 2012. In addition to reinstituting the athletic program in 1990, he also coached the Lady Raiders’ basketball team from 1991-93, compiling a 57-7 record and winning a pair of Panhandle Conference Championships. During his tenure as athletic director, the Raiders advanced to seven national tournaments and men’s basketball won the NJCAA Championship in 1995. Widely known for championing women’s athletics at the state and national levels, Englett spearheaded efforts to comply with Title IX during his eight terms as FCSAA Commissioner for Women’s Athletics and NJCAA Region 8 Women’s Director, all while never compromising the importance of academic standards and integrity.
Past recipients:
Dr. Dale O’Daniel Panhandle Conference Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year
 2017: Brayson Smith, Northwest Florida State College, baseball
 2016: William Pfister, Northwest Florida State College, men’s basketball
 2015: Folorunsho Akande, Gulf Coast State College, basketball
 2014: Bert Givens, Chipola College, baseball
 2013: Clayton Rooks, Chipola College, baseball
 2012: Jeff Mullahey, Pensacola State College, basketball
Mickey Englett Panhandle Conference Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year
 2017: Elisa Cecchetti, Tallahassee Community College, softball
 2016: Audrey-Ann Goudreau, Gulf Coast State College, women’s basketball
 2015: Shannon Toogood, Pensacola State College, softball
 2014: Nicole Holton, Gulf Coast State College, volleyball
 2013: Kelly Hayes, Pensacola State College, softball
 2012: Megan Oster, Tallahassee Community College, softball